9th Grade Bookshelf Suggestions Wanted!

Chat about anything and everything non-Etrian related!

Moderator: ItL Moderators

Starfe
Manticor
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

9th Grade Bookshelf Suggestions Wanted!

Postby Starfe » Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:09 pm

This is wholly unorthodox. I don't post for weeks or months at a time and then I have the audacity to start a new thread. Well, basically, I need your guys suggestions.

As some of you may know I am now a 9th grade English teacher in deep East Oakland. I'm trying my damndest to convince some of these kids that reading and writing are noble pursuits, but I can't do it without a wide range of books for them to try. So I'm asking you all, knowing there are many bibliophiles here, for suggestions on what you think would go well on a 9th grade classroom bookcase!

Now my reading levels vary over a pretty huge range between my 3 groups, some of my students are very, very, very low. Some of them are already at a college level. Some of them are new English speakers. Some of them are already immersed in gang life. So basically I'm looking for pretty much any suggestion you think might be appropriate.

Help me ItL, you're my only hope.

PLA
Manticor
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: 9th Grade Bookshelf Suggestions Wanted!

Postby PLA » Sat Sep 07, 2013 9:00 pm

^ 9th grade? Like 14 years. Uh, I think some of my friends read about cars. I remember reading about armoury. Generally, books and magazines with pictures and diagrams to break the text got more attention.

I think Terry Pratchett and generic fantasy were moderately popular.
"Make life rue the day it thought it could give Cave Johnson lemons!"